111323524264217421

One of the hardest tasks in applying for a new job is writing the dang cover letter for each position.

It seems so desperate to write, “Look… you need someone and I need a job. HIRE ME! Really! I’ll do whatever, so long as the pay is good and you offer decent medical benefits. I won’t cause personnel issues by fighting with the other workers. I’ll come to work every single day for the next fifteen years. And I’ll even pretend to enjoy helping customers, if that’s part of the job. Just PLEASE hire me!”

Instead, I’ve been drafting proper letters for all these applications. I can only hope one of them catches the eye of some hiring official after they’ve had their morning coffee but before they go in to their post-lunch afternoon stupor.

Leave a Reply

