111989597016481501

What’s better than seeing The Arcade Fire in concert at the Hollywood Bowl? Why, seeing David Byrne in concert at the Hollywood Bowl on the SAME NIGHT! Sw00t!

CK {phone rings}: Hello?
Me: Guess where I am?
CK: Oh, stop it.
Me: I’m at the Hollywood Bowl.
CK: I hate you.
Me: The Arcade Fire just left the stage and David Byrne is next.
CK: I hope you rot in hell.
Me: If you want, I can leave the phone on during his set so you can hear the concert.
CK: Stop calling me.
Me: You sound angry and bitter.
CK: …

The woman in front of me decided to get up and dance halfway through the concert and after she’d polished off a few bottles. She didn’t want to stand by herself, so she forced her teenage daughter to get up. The daughter stood there and sent text messages on her phone.

I swear that if I ever have a teenage daughter and we’re at the same concert because I forced her to come with, I won’t make her get up and dance with me. As a corollary, if I ever have a teenage daughter and we’re at the same concert because I needed to be a chaperone for her and her friends, I won’t get up and dance at all. People of a certain age should show some restraint.

Leave a Reply

