116918852692178130

This morning I loafed too long and didn’t take a shower. My hair was quite the mess and I didn’t feel like dressing up for work. I decided to wear some black pants, a pink t-shirt and a pair of Brian’s old comfy boots with the rationalization that I’m not at a public desk and I could sit unnoticed for eight hours.

The first thing that happened was the receptionist went home sick and I got scheduled to cover the switchboard for two hours. All two hundred people in the office walked past me in those two hours. Some walked by repeatedly. Loafers.

The second thing that happened was that I was nominated as Employee of the Month and there was a surprise party for the event. Everyone was there as I accepted my award and Macy’s gift card. The final public embarrassment was having my picture taken so it could be put online for everyone in all the satellite offices (and, perhaps, the world at large) to see.

I’m sure there’s something to be learned here. It’s either A) shower or B) don’t do such a great job that you win a prize.

Leave a Reply

