When threatened, she gains the strength of a thousand trollops

Actual conversation on the first floor in front of the elevator at work:

Older Guy: I think I’ll go home.

Me: That sounds like a great idea.

OG: You have a beautiful smile.

Me: Thank you.

OG: Are those your natural teeth?

Me: …

OG: ???

Me: Erm…yes. Yes, they are.

OG: Girl! You got it goin’ ON!

When I got back to my desk, I told the girl across from me about the exchange. She asked who the guy was and I told her he’d come out of the office on the first floor, so he wasn’t one of ours. She said she’d worked in this building for seven years and in all that time, absolutely no one from that office had EVER spoken to anyone from our office.

She also said that, based on that conversation, she was happy to continue the non-speaking tradition.

9 responses to “When threatened, she gains the strength of a thousand trollops

  1. Wow. Thank you for not letting that every slip out of my mouth.

    *shakes head* I know I’ve said some weird things but… natural teeth? Too bad you couldn’t have popped them out and gone “Oh, these? No… my real ones are at home.”

  2. Wait….you went ice skating?

  3. It’s looking good.

  4. *And we draw another one into the fold*

    Wow, who knew a 19th century novelist could be that strong? Although, I guess 1000 19th century novelists would make a large, literate, possibly ink-stained army.

  5. This place looks like the fucking Matrix.

  6. Live Journal dammit!

  7. I like the new look! I think I’m switching too but I can’t seem to get up the nerve to do it. Skating! On ice, like? I was one of those skaters who stumbled around imagining grace and beauty when in fact I was scraping my ankles on the ice and wide eyed with fear. Not pretty.

  8. Skating! On ice, like?

    I only do it for the shiny tights.

Leave a Reply

