So I sing you to syntho-sleep after the techno-love

The 80’s Flashback Dance Mix was playing at PF Chang’s. Fortunately, I couldn’t hear most of it because the conversations of the other patrons was loud enough to drown out the sound system. In the ladies’ room, however, there was no escape from the speaker blaring, “Oh, Sheila”.

As I sat and listened to a song I thought I’d never have to hear again, I decided that I should turn around my negativity. I tried to think up a reason “Oh, Sheila” was a good song and I concluded that without songs such as this, there would have been nothing for teenagers to skate to at the local rollerdrome in the 1980’s.

I then blamed the music of the 1990’s for single-handedly dealing the death blow to rollerdromes everywhere.

4 responses to “So I sing you to syntho-sleep after the techno-love

  1. I then blamed the music of the 1990’s for single-handedly dealing the death blow to rollerdromes everywhere.

    True….there wasn’t much of a demand for grunge rollerdromes.

  2. ah, but the psychedelic lights and the disco ball were great “mood enchancers”…

  3. I bet Engelbert would be honored to learn that you’ve honored him with the title of this post. Except — shouldn’t it really be, “…after the techno-lovin’ ?? ;>)

    Sure hope y’all are staying close to home and out of the path of fire and smoke. Even though I moved out of my native CA, it’s sure hard to see the news reports of all the devastation there. I’m with you as to it being important to “turn around…negativity” — so I’m sending positive thoughts and prayers out your way. Stay safe and well, OK?

  4. I bet Engelbert would be honored to learn that you’ve honored him with the title of this post.

    If he were still alive, that is.

Leave a Reply

