But I’ll rise above it. I’m a professional, right?

Once again, I have to pack up my office. This time, though, I don’t have to move to a new location. Instead, I just have to put everything in a box that can go in a box. Non-boxable items get labels with my name on them.

The event? New flooring is going to be installed over the holiday weekend. After the big disaster that was the water leak in the ceiling of my prior office, the manager has decided that all carpets should be removed and replaced with vinyl tiles… and not just the mold-encrusted carpet, but all the carpet in all the offices will be replaced, much to the irkment of all my co-workers.

There is no point settling in once everything is put back on Tuesday morning. It’s surely only a matter of time before someone notices how happy I am and decides to try to break my spirit with another office relocation.

Speaking of office relocations, one of the supervisors retired and a co-worker was named as a temporary “acting supervisor” in the interim until a new supervisor can be hired.

Her first statement upon accepting the “acting” position was that she “wouldn’t change”. The body wasn’t even cold before things started changing. Right after this statement was made, she set about moving her desk in to the freshly vacant office. She ordered a signature stamp and some new business cards to reflect her new title. Drunk with power, she told me she’d need a name plate for her door – something no one else, not even the manager, has for themselves.

One response to “But I’ll rise above it. I’m a professional, right?

  1. I hear the hangover from being drunk with power is a real mo’fo’… is that the correct term? My “street lingo” is severely neglected.

Leave a Reply

