As long as there is, you know, sex and drugs, I can do without the rock ‘n’ roll

There’s a person of indeterminate gender who has been hanging around the recycling containers in the alley.

S/he wears gender neutral clothing which tends to the 70’s glam rock star, what with the sheer sleeves, glitter, leather trousers and boots. His/her buggy of choice is a baby jogging stroller, but it is outfitted in a non-interesting way – without stickers, streamers, stuffed animals or sequins.

His/her hair is mid-shoulder length, which means nothing. Moobs/boobs – hard to say.

So! When we got home from grocery shopping and I saw this person of interest go behind one of the recycling containers, drop his/her trousers and squat over an open milk carton, I was sure all doubt would be dispelled!

Someone, who shall remain nameless, implored me to “go inside, already” and stop watching the free show. As I tried to explain while being pushed towards the gate, I turned away at that critical moment when I might’ve seen all.

When I turned back, s/he was already standing back up, closing the milk carton and carefully placing it inside the recycling container. Now I’ll never know.

3 responses to “As long as there is, you know, sex and drugs, I can do without the rock ‘n’ roll

  1. Well it is biodegradeable whether it comes from a he or a she!

  2. “There’s a person of indeterminate gender who has been hanging around the recycling containers in the alley.”

    Is this about me?

    It is, isn’t it?

  3. I still haven’t gotten over a photo Bushra posted a couple yrs. ago of a briefcase in a dumpster (wondering even now if the person who owned it was robbed, mugged or even murdered…) — and now I’m being tormented with questions about just how many people may deposit their bodily waste products inside what are supposed to be relatively clean recyclables… Oh, the horror (and disgust)!! Apparently this kind of obsessing about things over which I have NO control is a personal tool of mine for avoiding the handling of actual issues in my real life. (That, or it’s just cheap entertainment? 😉

    After a little more than a day fretting about just how much human waste may be incorporated into the products created from the recycled items (ew.), I’ve finally come around to feeling extremely grateful that I have a home of my own and a bathroom of my own (humble though they may be). And even though I’m relegated to the value menu in public eateries, at least I have enough money to purchase something so I can avail myself of a public restroom when needed. Counting my blessings in a major way.

    Bet you didn’t think a post about a rogue latriner could guide a reader to personal and spiritual growth, did ya? Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

