We’ll tackle number two later

Some days it takes very little to set me off at work. I know you all find this admission very hard to believe, given that I am such an optimist about everything.

Yesterday, I thought I was going to have to publish some kind of manifesto outlining all the things that people do that just wear me out. The readers of said manifesto could decide for themselves whether to tempt fate by continuing their behavior or to reign in their crazy selves.

Rather than bog everyone down with the entire tome at once, I’ve decided to parcel out the information as it becomes necessary.

Number one on the list: People who sign their emails, “Best”.

I can grant a partial exception to non-Americans who might do this. But seeing “Best” on an email signature makes me wonder, “Best what?” Best wishes? Best regards? All the best? What the hell? Surely they aren’t wishing me the best of anything, especially if they’re sending me a complaint.

Coming up next: Office Poopers.

4 responses to “We’ll tackle number two later

  1. Alas, I am guilty guilty guilty of that one. I suspect it’s because I have this secret desire to be British just so I can cuss someone out and sound as genteel as Jane Austen doing it. As to what sort of “best” I mean when I do commit this sin, I like to leave it open so the receiver can pick and choose… best luck, best taco, best parking space, best chance of not getting rickrolled.
    To be fair, however, I’ve never written you a complainy sort of email, so I have that going for me.
    Which is nice.

  2. Hola Scootledeb!

    Welcome back!

    I espect they are trying but cannot spell Besos.

    Besos

    Manuel

  3. LeeAnn – even if you wrote me a complainy email, it wasn’t work-related, so I could overlook it πŸ™‚

    Manuel – besos are always fine πŸ™‚

  4. I’d never do that… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

